Interior About
AMGA

Certified Ski Mountaineering Guide

Terrain Description: Ski Mountaineering Guide

When ski mountaineering certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Ski Mountaineering Guides are required to operate only within the confines of the ski mountaineering certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Ski Mountaineering Guide is allowed to guide when ski mountaineering certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

AMGA Ski Mountaineering Guide certification is designed for guiding either ski tours or ski ascents/descents, on nordic, alpine touring or snow board equipment.

Ski Mountaineering Guides are permitted to conduct their profession on all terrains which:

  • Includes as the main objective, either ski touring, off-piste and/or mechanized skiing/snow boarding
  • Are on slopes 50 degrees or steeper
  • May employ use of short-roping techniques with the use of ice axe and crampons
  • Requires travel on crevassed glaciers
  • Have significant avalanche hazard
  • Involve multi-pitch ice or rock
Ski Mountaineering Guide Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Mark Houston 74310 Les Houches mark@cosleyhouston.com
Kathy Cosley 74310 Les Houches kathy@cosleyhouston.com +33 601912477
Hans Solmssen Verbier hans.solmssen@gmail.com 011-41-79-446-2289
Rodrigo Mujica Chile - summit@patagonicas.com 888-203-9354
Caroline George Chamonix - carolinewaregeorge@gmail.com
Adam George Chamonix - sendadamnews@gmail.com
Thor Husted chamonix - thorhusted54@hotmail.com +33649038986
Miles Smart Chamonix - smartguides@mac.com
Seth Hobby Kabelvag - seth@alpineguides.no + 47 942 49110
Danny Uhlmann Chamonix Mont-Blanc - danny@firstlightmountainguides.com +33 6 40 89 85 40
Elizabeth Oakes Smart Chamonix-Les Alpes - smartguides@mac.com +1 206 925 3991
Matt Farmer Chamonix Mont-Blanc - farmer@mountainguides.com France mobile +33 6 84 07 61 90
Jamie Pierce Juneau AK jpierce11@uas.alaska.edu 907-500-3127
Nick D'Alessio Girdwood AK nick.dalessio@gmail.com
Mark Kelly Valdez AK pwdrjnky@mac.com 970-744-0024
Joe Stock Anchorage AK stockalpine@gmail.com 907-830-0125
Mike Bromberg Revelstoke BC mike@mikebromberg.com 250-814-4386
Buck Corrigan Revelstoke BC aroo@telus.net 250-814 8494
Evan Stevens Garibaldi Highlands BC evanstevens@gmail.com 6048485466
Steve Reynaud Truckee CA sreynaud@sbcglobal.net 530.412.3242
Jediah Porter Bishop CA jediahmporter@gmail.com 760 920 1403
Adrian Ballinger Olympic Valley CA adrian@alpenglowexpeditions.com 970-309-8698
Bela Vadasz Truckee CA bela@alpineskills.com 530-582-9170
Tim Villanueva Bishop CA tim@bardini.org 760-872-4413
Neil Satterfield June Lake CA neil@sierramtnguides.com 760-914-2133
Dave Miller Mammoth Lake CA dave@californiaalpineguides.com 877-686-2546
SP Parker Bishop CA sp@sierramountaincenter.com 760-873-8526
Howie Schwartz Bishop CA howie@sierramtnguides.com 760-648-1122
Tom Carter Carnelian Bay CA tfcarter@gmail.com 530-412-0098
Ben Mitchell Truckee CA benmitchell17@gmail.com 503-307-1320
Tim Dobbins Truckee CA timdobbins74@gmail.com 5304145856
Doug Nidever June Lake CA doug@themountainguide.com 760-937-6922
Andrew Councell Estes Park CO acouncell@totalclimbing.com 970.776.6847
Jayson Simons-Jones Crested Butte CO jayson@crestedbutteguides.com 970-349-5430
Matt Wade Ridgway CO info@peakmountainguides.com 970-325-7342
Randy Sackett Steamboat Springs CO rksackett@comcast.net
Amos Whiting Basalt CO info@mallorcaclimbingcamps.com 970-319-1084
Antoine Savelli Ophir CO antoinesavelli@aol.com 970-728-3705
Jean Pavillard gunnison CO jean@jpmountainguide.com 970-209-3980
John MacKinnon Leadville CO jwmackinnon@gmail.com 970-236-6130
Matthew Lipscomb Boulder CO matthew.lipscomb@gmail.com 303-210-2829
Michael Walter Snowmass CO mountainguide@live.com 970-618-3953
Michael Arnold Steamboat Springs CO mikeyarno15@gmail.com 970-367-6509
Chad Mickschl Glenwood Springs CO chad.guides@gmail.com 303.503.4422
Patrick Ormond Ouray CO pormond@hotmail.com 435-640-8704
Clint Cook Ouray CO clintcookifmga@yahoo.com
Mark Falender Snowmass Village CO mfalender@gmail.com 970-366-1978
Don Roth Nederland CO donny@independent-descents.com
Keith Garvey Ridgway CO climb@allmountainadventures.com 970-596-0619
Eric Larson Telluride CO ekkalarson@yahoo.com
Peter Inglis Telluride CO peteringlis59@hotmail.com 970-728-7587
Dylan Taylor Boulder CO taylorfoto@gmail.com
Dale Remsberg Lafayette CO daleremsberg@mac.com 303-818-8009
Michael Soucy Boulder CO mnsoucy@hotmail.com 970-389-7299
Bart Paull Lakewood CO bart.paull@gmail.com 307-690-6550
Steve Banks Crested Butte CO steve@stevebanksmountainguide.com 970-209-7165
Peter Krainz Dillon CO peterkrainz@comcast.net (970)409-9555
Markus Beck Boulder CO info@alpineworldascents.com 303-589-1195
Jeff Banks Crested Butte CO jeffbanksguide@mac.com
Dick Jackson Aspen CO dickjackson@aspenexpeditions.com 970-925-7625
Steven House Ridgway CO stevehouse10@yahoo.com
Vince Anderson Grand Junction CO vinceanderson@hotmail.com 970-209-2985
Eli Helmuth Estes Park CO guide@climbinglife.com 970-744-4898
Eric Whewell Boulder CO whewelleric@gmail.com 970 596-7705
Angela Hawse Ridgway CO angela@alpinist007.com 970-318-9000
Joe Thompson Erie CO climberjoeyt@gmail.com 303 472 5920
Steven Schreiber Basalt CO mthuttheliguides@comcast.net +1 970 309 1093
Robert Coppolillo Boulder CO coppolillo@gmail.com
Tim Brown Crested Butte CO timbrown365@gmail.com
Don Sharaf Victor ID dsharaf1224@gmail.com 307-733-3315
Christian Santelices Victor ID cesantelices@gmail.com +1 (307) 690-1385
Marc Hanselman Ketchum ID proalpineguide@gmail.com
Sarah Carpenter Victor ID sarahlovessnow@yahoo.com 307-733-3315
Mike Hattrup Ketchum ID mike_hattrup@k2sports.com 208-726-3859
Joe St. Onge Hailey ID info@svtrek.com (208)788-1966
Erik Leidecker Hailey ID erikl@sawtoothguides.com 208-720-1823
Kirk Bachman Stanley ID kirk@sawtoothguides.com 208-559-7590
Don Carpenter Victor ID donmcarpenter@yahoo.com
Jon Tierney Orono ME climb@acadiamountainguides.com 207-866-7562 year round
Tyler Jones Bozeman MT jo16nes@hotmail.com 208.720.1185
Michael Silitch Dublin NH michael@high-alpine.com 011 336 89 48 41 18
Art Mooney New Hampton NH artmooney@me.com 603-744-5853
Peter Doucette Intervale NH peter@mountainsenseguides.com 603-616-7455
John Kear Edgewood NM John@suntoucher.com 505-400-2529
Marc Beverly Albuquerque NM marc@beverlymountainguides.com 505-264-8364
Joe Royer Lamoille NV joe@helicopterskiing.com 775-753-6867
Geoff Unger Rosendale NY info@geoffungermountainguide.com (206) 619-3034
Silas Rossi New Paltz NY silas@alpine-logic.com 207-949-1736
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Pete Keane Bend OR pete@timberlinemtguides.com 541-312-9242
Chris Wright Bend OR chris@nowclimbing.com 970-325-3186
Jonathon Spitzer Cottonwood Heights UT jonathon.spitzer@gmail.com 970 596 5971
Winslow Passey Salt Lake UT wtpassey@yahoo.com 206 920 7849
Todd Passey Salt Lake City UT toddpassey@gmail.com 801 842-8398
Tim Connelly Salt Lake City UT tcgoneclimbing@gmail.com 360-319-1089
Kevin Mahoney Richmond VT kbmbarn@gmail.com 603-387-3879
Mark Puleio Hyde Park VT mark@alpineguidesinterntaional.com 802 585 9061
Olivia Cussen Leavenworth WA olivia@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Seth Waterfall Enumclaw WA seth.waterfall@gmail.com
Eric Simonson Ashford WA eric@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Jeff Ward Leavenworth WA jeff@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Matthew Schonwald Seattle WA matt@bcadventureguides.com 206-799-4092
Solveig Waterfall Enumclaw WA solveigwaterfall@rmiguides.com
Margaret Wheeler Snoqualmie WA marg@proguiding.com 206-818-7947
Einar Isfeld Steinarsson Leavenworth WA Einar.ice@glacierguides.is
Mike Powers Spokane WA poowers@earthlink.net (360) 671-1505
Nick Pope Leavenworth WA nick@mountainschool.com 503-358-3195
Lee Lazzara Bellingham WA lee.lazzara@yahoo.com
Mark Allen Winthrop WA alpinelines@gmail.com 360-305-2383
Larry Goldie Winthrop WA larry@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
John Race Leavenworth WA jr@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Lyle Haugsven Seattle WA lyle@northcoastalpineguides.com 360-319-9773
Chris Simmons Seattle WA chris@chrissimmonsguiding.com 206-715-7589
Forest McBrian Seattle WA fmcbrian@gmail.com 503 740-5280
Tyler Reid Olympia WA tyler@pacificalpineguides.com 888-674-8492
Mason Stafford Bellingham WA mason@shuksanskiguiding.com 360-739-4076
Peter Leh Port Townsend WA hit.a.bum.turn@gmail.com (360) 531-1855
Aaron Mainer Enumclaw WA aaron.mainer@mountainguides.com (509)995-5042
Erin Smart Seattle WA erin.g.smart@gmail.com 206-384-1282
Tom Hargis Jackson WY hargis@wyoming.com 307-733-2297
Mark Smiley Jackson WY mark@saltmountaineering.com 970 901 8079
Nat Patridge Jackson WY nat@exumguides.com 307-733-2297
Kent McBride Jackson Hole WY mountainsense@gmail.com 307-690-7205
Gary Falk Wilson WY garyfalk1@yahoo.com
Bill Anderson Jackson WY bill@mountainguidewyoming.com 307-690-5136
Dan Starr Jackson WY starrdan@earthlink.net
Mike Poborsky Jackson WY mike@exumguides.com 307-413-8947
Brian Warren Jackson WY brian@jhmg.com 307-699-4978
Rob Hess Jackson WY rob@jhmg.com (307) 733-4979
Bill Dyer Wilson WY bdyer100@gmail.com 307-690-3235