Interior About
AMGA

Certified Ski Mountaineering Guide

Terrain Description: Ski Mountaineering Guide

When ski mountaineering certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Ski Mountaineering Guides are required to operate only within the confines of the ski mountaineering certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Ski Mountaineering Guide is allowed to guide when ski mountaineering certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

AMGA Ski Mountaineering Guide certification is designed for guiding either ski tours or ski ascents/descents, on nordic, alpine touring or snow board equipment.

Ski Mountaineering Guides are permitted to conduct their profession on all terrains which:

  • Includes as the main objective, either ski touring, off-piste and/or mechanized skiing/snow boarding
  • Are on slopes 50 degrees or steeper
  • May employ use of short-roping techniques with the use of ice axe and crampons
  • Requires travel on crevassed glaciers
  • Have significant avalanche hazard
  • Involve multi-pitch ice or rock
Ski Mountaineering Guide Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Kathy Cosley 74310 Les Houches kathy@cosleyhouston.com +33 601912477
Mark Houston 74310 Les Houches mark@cosleyhouston.com
Miles Smart Chamonix - smartguides@mac.com
Matt Farmer Chamonix Mont-Blanc - farmer@mountainguides.com France mobile +33 6 84 07 61 90
Rodrigo Mujica Chile - summit@patagonicas.com 888-203-9354
Danny Uhlmann Chamonix Mont-Blanc - danny@firstlightmountainguides.com +33 6 40 89 85 40
Geoff Unger Chamonix - info@geoffungermountainguide.com (206) 619-3034
Thor Husted chamonix - thorhusted54@hotmail.com +33649038986
Seth Hobby Kabelvag - seth@alpineguides.no + 47 942 49110
Caroline George Chamonix - carolinewaregeorge@gmail.com
Elizabeth Oakes Smart Chamonix-Les Alpes - smartguides@mac.com
Joe Stock Anchorage AK stockalpine@gmail.com 907-830-0125
Jamie Pierce Juneau AK jpierce11@uas.alaska.edu 907-500-3127
Anne Keller Revelstoke BC annekeller.ski@gmail.com 509-322-4232
Evan Stevens Garibaldi Highlands BC evanstevens@gmail.com 6048485466
Buck Corrigan Revelstoke BC aroo@telus.net 250-814 8494
Mike Bromberg Revelstoke BC mike@mikebromberg.com 250-814-4386
Tim Villanueva Bishop CA tim@bardini.org 760-872-4413
Adrian Ballinger Olympic Valley CA adrian@alpenglowexpeditions.com 970-309-8698
Mimi Maki Vadasz Norden CA mimiyv@att.net (530) 587-9170
Jediah Porter Bishop CA jediahmporter@gmail.com 760 920 1403
Neil Satterfield June Lake CA neil@sierramtnguides.com 760-914-2133
Tom Carter Carnelian Bay CA tfcarter@gmail.com 530-412-0098
SP Parker Bishop CA sp@sierramountaincenter.com 760-873-8526
Steve Reynaud Truckee CA sreynaud@sbcglobal.net 530.412.3242
Dave Miller Mammoth Lake CA dave@californiaalpineguides.com 877-686-2546
Howie Schwartz Big Pine CA howie@sierramtnguides.com 760-648-1122
Doug Nidever June Lake CA doug@themountainguide.com 760-937-6922
Ben Mitchell Truckee CA benmitchell17@gmail.com 503-307-1320
Don Roth Nederland CO donny@independent-descents.com
Peter Krainz Dillon CO peterkrainz@comcast.net (970)409-9555
Joe Thompson Erie CO climberjoeyt@gmail.com 303 472 5920
Jayson Simons-Jones Crested Butte CO jayson@crestedbutteguides.com 970-349-5430
Matt Wade Ridgway CO info@peakmountainguides.com 970-325-7342
Tim Brown Crested Butte CO timbrown365@gmail.com
Robert Coppolillo Boulder CO coppolillo@gmail.com
Clint Cook Ouray CO clintcookifmga@yahoo.com
Randy Sackett Steamboat Springs CO rksackett@comcast.net
Steven Schreiber Basalt CO mthuttheliguides@comcast.net +1 970 309 1093
Andrew Councell Estes Park CO acouncell@totalclimbing.com 970.776.6847
Amos Whiting Aspen CO dreamsplitter1@gmail.com 970-319-1084
Antoine Savelli Ophir CO antoinesavelli@aol.com 970-728-3705
Jean Pavillard gunnison CO jean@jpmountainguide.com 970-209-3980
Eric Whewell Boulder CO whewelleric@gmail.com 970 596-7705
Eli Helmuth Estes Park CO guide@climbinglife.com 970-744-4898
John MacKinnon Leadville CO jwmackinnon@gmail.com 970-236-6130
Matthew Lipscomb Boulder CO matthew.lipscomb@gmail.com 303-210-2829
Vince Anderson Grand Junction CO vinceanderson@hotmail.com 970-209-2985
Michael Walter Snowmass CO mountainguide@live.com 970-618-3953
Steven House Ridgway CO stevehouse10@yahoo.com
Michael Arnold Steamboat Springs CO mikeyarno15@gmail.com
Chad Mickschl Glenwood Springs CO chad.guides@gmail.com 303.503.4422
Dick Jackson Aspen CO dickjackson@aspenexpeditions.com 970-925-7625
Patrick Ormond Ouray CO pormond@hotmail.com 435-640-8704
Jeff Banks Crested Butte CO jeffbanksguide@mac.com
Bart Paull Lakewood CO bart.paull@gmail.com 307-690-6550
Markus Beck Boulder CO info@alpineworldascents.com 303-350-0366
Alan Bernholtz Crested Butte CO alan@elevenexperience.com 970-901-9161
Mark Falender Snowmass Village CO mfalender@gmail.com 970-366-1978
Keith Garvey Ridgway CO climb@allmountainadventures.com 970-596-0619
Angela Hawse Ridgway CO angela@alpinist007.com 970-318-9000
Michael Soucy Boulder CO mnsoucy@hotmail.com 970-389-7299
Eric Larson Telluride CO ekkalarson@yahoo.com
Peter Inglis Telluride CO peteringlis59@hotmail.com 970-728-7587
Steve Banks Crested Butte CO steve@stevebanksmountainguide.com 970-209-7165
Dylan Taylor Boulder CO taylorfoto@gmail.com
Dale Remsberg Lafayette CO daleremsberg@mac.com 303-818-8009
Christian Santelices Victor ID cesantelices@gmail.com +1 (307) 690-1385
Kirk Bachman Stanley ID kirk@sawtoothguides.com 208-559-7590
Sarah Carpenter Victor ID sarahlovessnow@yahoo.com 307-733-3315
Don Sharaf Victor ID dsharaf1224@gmail.com 307-733-3315
Erik Leidecker Hailey ID erikl@sawtoothguides.com 208-720-1823
Joe St. Onge Hailey ID info@svtrek.com (208)788-1966
Mike Hattrup Ketchum ID mike_hattrup@k2sports.com 208-726-3859
Don Carpenter Victor ID donmcarpenter@yahoo.com
Marc Hanselman Ketchum ID marc@alpineprointernational.com 208-720-6369
Jon Tierney Orono ME climb@acadiamountainguides.com 207-866-7562 year round
Tyler Jones Bozeman MT jo16nes@hotmail.com 208.720.1185
Peter Doucette Intervale NH peter@mountainsenseguides.com 603-616-7455
Michael Silitch Dublin NH michael@high-alpine.com 011 336 89 48 41 18
Art Mooney New Hampton NH artmooney@me.com 603-744-5853
Marc Chauvin North Conway NH marc@chauvinguides.com 603-356-8919
Marc Beverly Albuquerque NM marc@beverlymountainguides.com 505-264-8364
John Kear Edgewood NM John@suntoucher.com 505-400-2529
Joe Royer Lamoille NV joe@helicopterskiing.com 775-753-6867
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Silas Rossi New Paltz NY silas@alpine-logic.com 207-949-1736
Nick Pope Portland OR nick@timberlinemtguides.com 503-358-3195
Pete Keane Bend OR pete@timberlinemtguides.com 541-312-9242
Chris Wright Bend OR chris@nowclimbing.com 970-325-3186
Winslow Passey Salt Lake UT wtpassey@yahoo.com 206 920 7849
Jonathon Spitzer Cottonwood Heights UT jonathon.spitzer@gmail.com 970 596 5971
Todd Passey Salt Lake City UT toddpassey@gmail.com 801 842-8398
Adam George Salt Lake City UT sendadamnews@gmail.com
Kevin Mahoney Richmond VT kbmbarn@gmail.com 603-387-3879
Aaron Mainer Enumclaw WA aaron.mainer@mountainguides.com (509)995-5042
Olivia Cussen Leavenworth WA olivia@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Tyler Reid Olympia WA tyler@pacificalpineguides.com 888-674-8492
Mason Stafford Bellingham WA mason@shuksanskiguiding.com 360-739-4076
John Race Leavenworth WA jr@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Chris Simmons Seattle WA chris@chrissimmonsguiding.com 206-715-7589
Tim Connelly Bellingham WA tcgoneclimbing@gmail.com 360-319-1089
Mark Allen Winthrop WA alpinelines@gmail.com 360-305-2383
Lyle Haugsven Seattle WA lyle_haugsven@yahoo.com 360-671-1505
Mike Powers Spokane WA poowers@earthlink.net (360) 671-1505
Larry Goldie Winthrop WA larry@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Erin Smart Seattle WA erin.g.smart@gmail.com 206-384-1282
Lee Lazzara Bellingham WA lee.lazzara@yahoo.com
Einar Isfeld Steinarsson Leavenworth WA Einar.ice@glacierguides.is
Peter Leh Port Townsend WA hit.a.bum.turn@gmail.com (360) 531-1855
Jeff Ward Leavenworth WA jeff@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Martin Volken North Bend WA martinvolken@proguiding.com 206-525-4425
Matthew Schonwald Seattle WA matt@bcadventureguides.com 206-799-4092
Eric Simonson Ashford WA eric@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Margaret Wheeler Snoqualmie WA marg@proguiding.com 206-818-7947
Forest McBrian Seattle WA fmcbrian@gmail.com 503 740-5280
Nat Patridge Jackson WY nat@exumguides.com 307-733-2297
Gary Falk Wilson WY garyfalk1@yahoo.com
Brian Warren Jackson WY brian@jhmg.com 307-699-4978
Mike Poborsky Jackson WY mike@exumguides.com 307-413-8947
Rob Hess Jackson WY rob@jhmg.com (307) 733-4979
Bill Dyer Wilson WY bdyer100@gmail.com 307-690-3235
Bill Anderson Jackson WY bill@mountainguidewyoming.com 307-690-5136
Kent McBride Jackson Hole WY mountainsense@gmail.com 307-690-7205
Tom Hargis Jackson WY hargis@wyoming.com 307-733-2297