Interior About
AMGA

Certified Rock Instructor

When rock instructor certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Rock Instructors are required to operate only within the confines of the rock instructor certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Rock Instructor is allowed to guide when rock instructor certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

Rock Instructor Certification is designed to apply to most “cragging” rock climbing areas in the US, such as Joshua Tree, Eldorado State Park, or Cannon Cliff. Approaches and descents are generally straightforward, climbs are not in a remote setting, routes are generally short and do not involve technical snow, glaciated terrain or significant short roping in either the approach, the climb or the descent.

Certified Rock Instructors are permitted to conduct their profession on all rock routes which:

  • Are Yosemite Decimal System Grade III or shorter in length
  • Do not have approaches or descents where extensive use of short-rope techniques is appropriate for security
  • Are not remote in nature
  • Do not involve technical snow, glacier travel, the use of skis or exposure to avalanche risk
Rock Instructor Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Naoya Suzuki Yokohama - naoya@adventure-seekers.com 81-908-308-9375
David Burns Wasilla AK dburns30356@gmail.com
Daniel Brothers Horton AL daniel@climbseneca.com 301-514-2115
Chris Tatum Flagstaff AZ christatum@flagstaffclimbing.com 928-607-6189
Jeff Fassett Tuscon AZ jfassett@msn.com 520-360-1099
Geir Hundal Tucson AZ guide@geir.com 520-250-1176
Fabian Schillings San Diego CA fabian.schillings@gmail.com 619 252 4923
Michael Moynihan Los Angeles CA justinmoynihan@gmail.com 2673331820
Josh Jackson San Diego CA josh@wildlead.com 619-303-5688
Brian Biega Truckee CA brianbiega@gmail.com 530-906-1118
Erik Kramer-Webb Joshua Tree CA ekwrock@hotmail.com 949-854-6250
Greg Jackson Belveder Tiburon CA greg@outbackadventures.com 415-461-2222
Glenn Pinson Canyon Lake CA gp@peakrescue.org 951 764-8272
Tony Grice Joshua Tree CA rockratg@yahoo.com
Marc Pietrolungo Twin Bridges CA Petch@loversleap.net 530-318-2939
Bob Gaines Newport Beach CA bgvertical@aol.com 800-514-8785
Markus Jolliff Joshua Tree CA markusjolliff@gmail.com 760-401-0643
Nick Schiestel Truckee CA nschiestel@yahoo.com 775-741-6274
Greg German Broomfield CO greg@germanguitars.com 303-944-4813
Cheyenne Chaffee Leadville CO climberguy42584@yahoo.com
Tom Willard Denver CO willardt.climber@gmail.com 303-908-8696
Michael Savage Steamboat Springs CO michaelsavage18@gmail.com 8144041906
Mike Lewis Leadville CO mettafriend@gmail.com 720-454-8698
James J. Orlet JR Buena Vista CO james@adventureunlimited.org
Ed Crothers Boulder CO ed@amga.com 303-271-0984 x 4
Mark Vermeal Golden CO mark@mountainsenseguides.com
Johann Aberger Carbondale CO jaberger@coloradomtn.edu 970-947-8237
Norie Kizaki Boulder CO noriekizaki@me.com 7203317532
Lynn Hill Boulder CO lynn@lynnhillclimbing.com
Bobby Lewis Buena Vista CO bobby@thelinkschool.org 719-395-6797
Paul Haraf Lafayette CO pharaf@rei.com 303.756.3100
Todd Felix Golden CO todd_felix@yahoo.com
Eric DeBergh Boulder CO info@certifiedclimbinginstructor.com (970) 316-CERT
Ryan Hammes Manitou Springs CO Ryan.Hammes@ColoradoCollege.edu 719-227-8131
Russell Hunter Boulder CO rhunter@totalclimbing.com
Anne Parmenter Bristol CT anne.parmenter@trincoll.edu 860-297-4189
Chuck Boyd Suffield CT chuck@verticalrealms.com 860-508-5273
Kevin Johnson Hartford CT kevin@alpineendeavors.com 518-301-3800
Matt Shove Manchester CT Matt@raggedmountainguides.com 203-228-2311
Clay Kennedy Atlanta Ga
David Sweet Moscow ID climrdavid@gmail.com 303-589-9494
Susan Detweiler Victor ID climbersuz@yahoo.com 307-733-2297
Karsten Delap Columbus IN karstendelap@yahoo.com 812-371-7826
Seth Pettit Shelbyville IN seth@climbseneca.com 304.567.2600
Sean Lorway Gloucester MA seanlorway@gmail.com
Ryan Stefiuk Northampton MA ryan@valleyvertical.com 802-779-7139
Bill Dudley Rockville MD bill@earthtreksclimbing.com 3019964741
Chad Cochran Fallston MD chad6071@msn.com 443-392-4806
Ryan Howes Mount Vernon ME ryan@synnottmountainguides.com 207-505-0016
Frank Carus Brownfield ME frankcarus@gmail.com
Richard Parker Bar Harbor ME rlparker78@gmail.com
Joel Enrico Brunswick ME joel.enrico@yahoo.com 207/522/4190
Eli Simon Bar Harbor ME eli@climbacadia.com 2072882521
Dave Kelly Denmark ME dave@ime-usa.com 2072153560
Ron Funderburke Mills River NC ron@foxmountainguides.com 828-388-0033
Travis Weil Brevard NC travis@foxmountainguides.com 417-770-2268
Patrick Weaver Pisgah Forest NC patrick@climbami.com 828-553-6323
Derek DeBruin Brevard NC dmdebruin@gmail.com 803-629-6590
Wesley Calkins Albemarle NC wecalkins1982@yahoo.com 704 363 1065
Brad White North Conway NH brad@ime-usa.com 603-356-7064
Keith Moon Randolph NH kemoon@ems.com 800-310-4504
Scott Lee Kearsarge NH scottdaniellee@gmail.com
Charlie Townsend Tamworth NH ctownsend516@gmail.com 603-733-8416
Sara Reeder Intervale NH reedersara@gmail.com 800-310-4504
Craig Taylor North Conway NH craig@ime-usa.com 603-356-7064
Matthew Ritter Campton NH maritter1@gmail.com
Theodore Teegarden Bethlehem NH Ted.Teegarden@whitemountain.org 603-444-2928 ex.31
Zebulon Jakub North Conway NH Crabzebula@gmail.com 603-356-7064
Bayard Russell North Conway NH bayard@cathedralmountainguides.com 603-986-5614
Stephen Nichipor Bartlett NH snichipor@omnihotels.com 603-278-8938
Chris Marks Franconia NH cktmarks350@yahoo.com
Jonathan Crefeld Bloomingdale NJ jon@alpineendeavors.com 9732914402
Elaina Arenz Las Vegas NV elaina@newriverclimbing.com 304-237-8144
Tracy Martin Las Vegas NV tracypmartin@me.com
Susan Kligerman Highlandfalls NY sue.kligerman@gmail.com 914-466-2099
Emilie Drinkwater Wilmington NY emilie@cloudsplitterguides.com 5185340845
Ian Osteyee Keene NY ianosteyee@adirondackmountainguides.com 518-576-9556
Eric Waldron Kerhonkson NY ewaldron@ems.com 845-255-3280
Bill Irving Gardiner NY billirving@yahoo.com 800-310-4504; 845-255-3280
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Angelo Urrico High Falls NY aurrico@earthlink.net
Doug Ferguson New Paltz NY info@mountainskills.biz 845-853-5450
Alan Kline new paltz NY alan@alpineendeavors.com
Dustin Portzline New Paltz NY dportzline@gmail.com 7177122540
Chad Kennedy Bloomingdale NY ccky73@yahoo.com
Joe Vitti High Falls NY joe@alpineendeavors.com 845-658-3094
David Potter Redmond OR info@smithrockclimbingguides.com 541-788-6225
Rodney Sofich Portland OR rsofich@gmail.com 503-803-7578
Jim Ablao Bend OR info@chockstoneclimbing.com 541-318-7170
Will Gordon Nashville TN will@climbseneca.com 304-567-2600
Rod Thomas Cleveland TN granola1861@yahoo.com 706-889-3049
Daniel Turner Ogden UT danielturner1@weber.edu 801-626-7354
Caleb Padgett Rockville UT caleb@zionmountainschool.com 435-633-1783
Swis Stockton Roanoke VA climb@granitearches.com 423-413-1432
Eric Owen middletown VA shoppyowen@hotmail.com 760-873-8526
Brent Prough Virginia Beach VA brent.prough@vb.socom.mil 757-862-0989
Grant Price Nellysford VA gprice9347@aim.com 276-732-2001
Bert Severin Burlington VT bert.severin@gmail.com 802.730.2978
Robert Niles Cambridge VT robniles6@gmail.com 802-274-0786
Alex Sargent Cambridge VT ejlars@sover.net 802-899-7200
Dustin Dearborn Jeffersonville VT dustinsdearborn@yahoo.com
Derrek Anderson Montpelier VT derrekbanderson@gmail.com 510-604-0130
Derek Doucet Bristol VT ddoucet@middlebury.edu 802-443-3105
Matt Walker Winthrop WA m1walker@mac.com 520-360-1465
Jaime Pollitte Leavenworth WA Jaimepollitte1@gmail.com 206-512-8823
Andy Davis Tacoma WA andydavis2382@yahoo.com
Tod Bloxham Tacoma WA tod@edgeworksclimbing.com 253-564-4899
Travis Kemp Seattle WA kemptravis@me.com 801-557-9261
Jim Taylor Fayetteville WV jim@appalachianclimbingschool.com 304-640-1755
Massey Teel Seneca Rocks WV massey@climbseneca.com 304-567-2600