Interior About
AMGA

Certified Rock Guide

Terrain Description: Rock Guide

When rock guide certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Rock Guides are required to operate only within the confines of the rock guide certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Rock Guide is allowed to guide when rock certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

Rock Guide certification is designed to apply to all Rock Instructor terrain, but also includes climbs of much greater length, including big wall and aid climbs, and climbs on which significant short roping is appropriate for the safeguarding of clients on either approaches or descents. Rock Guide certification is not, however, applicable to terrain, which is alpine in nature, that is, remote, or involves technical snow or technical glaciated or icy terrain.

Certified Rock Guides are permitted to conduct their profession on all rock routes which:

  • Are Grade IV or Grade V in length
  • Approaches and descent may require extensive use of short-roping technique for security
  • Routes may be remote in nature
  • Do not involve glacier travel, the use of skis or exposure to avalanche risk
Rock Guide Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Mark Houston 74310 Les Houches mark@cosleyhouston.com
Hans Solmssen Verbier hans.solmssen@gmail.com 011-41-79-446-2289
Kathy Cosley 74310 Les Houches kathy@cosleyhouston.com +33 601912477
Caroline George Chamonix - carolinewaregeorge@gmail.com
Elizabeth Oakes Smart Chamonix-Les Alpes - smartguides@mac.com
Geoff Unger Chamonix - info@geoffungermountainguide.com (206) 619-3034
David Vallet Cape Town - davidvallet@gmail.com
Miles Smart Chamonix - smartguides@mac.com
Adam Fox Tauranga - New Zealand - adamsfox@icloud.com +64-21-151-9011
Thor Husted chamonix - thorhusted54@hotmail.com +33649038986
Adam George Chamonix - sendadamnews@gmail.com
Danny Uhlmann Chamonix Mont-Blanc - danny@firstlightmountainguides.com +33 6 40 89 85 40
Matt Farmer Chamonix Mont-Blanc - farmer@mountainguides.com France mobile +33 6 84 07 61 90
Dan McQuade Un Pao, Phang Nga, Thailand - danusa417@hotmail.com 702 334-0423
Rodrigo Mujica Chile - summit@patagonicas.com 888-203-9354
Seth Hobby Kabelvag - seth@alpineguides.no + 47 942 49110
Jamie Pierce Juneau AK jpierce11@uas.alaska.edu 907-500-3127
Joe Stock Anchorage AK stockalpine@gmail.com 907-830-0125
Andrew Soleman Anniston AL asolemanjr@gmail.com
K.C. Baum Flagstaff AZ Thoth1111@aol.com 928-255-2924
David Merin Tuscon AZ DavidMerin18@gmail.com 520-300-0809
Buck Corrigan Revelstoke BC aroo@telus.net 250-814 8494
Kellie Erwin-Rhoads Golden BC kellie@redshift.bc.ca 250-344-5707
Mike Bromberg Revelstoke BC mike@mikebromberg.com 250-814-4386
Evan Stevens Garibaldi Highlands BC evanstevens@gmail.com 6048485466
Jim Ongena Oliver BC Jim@corporateheights.ca 250-486-7166
Carlos Romero Livermore CA 925-980-4152
Chris Ecklund Bishop CA climbwithecklund@hotmail.com 760-920-1590
Doug Nidever June Lake CA doug@themountainguide.com 760-937-6922
Josh Helling El Portal CA joshhelling@gmail.com 209-379-2331
Viren Perumal Mammoth Lakes CA Viren.perumal@gmail.com 937-286-0760
Peter Fasoldt truckee CA pfasoldt@gmail.com 2077560384
Doug Robinson Kirkwood CA drobinson@movingoverstone.com 831.234.0177
Sebastian Grau Petaluma CA grauseba@yahoo.com
Aaron Jones Yosemite CA aaronjjones86@gmail.com
Matt Brooks Fremont CA rewmb@aol.com 510-797-7980
Chris Werner Truckee CA cghorizon@gmail.com 805-570-7534
Bela Vadasz Truckee CA bela@alpineskills.com 530-582-9170
Logan Talbott Truckee CA logdoglogan@gmail.com
Trevor Hobbs Bishop CA hobbstrevor@gmail.com 209-988-1792
Howie Schwartz Bishop CA howie@sierramtnguides.com 760-648-1122
Ryan Huetter Mammoth Lakes CA ryanahuetter@gmail.com
David Lane Mammoth Lakes CA climbwithdave@yahoo.com 7603906599
Steve Schneider Oakland CA blondeshipoopi@yahoo.com 209-988-9044
Ben Traxler Mammoth Lakes CA info@southwestclimbing.com 928-899-4940
Ryan Tetz Bishop CA climbingryan@gmail.com 530-558-5323
Nathan Kerr El Portal CA nate@dharmaguides.net 209-372-8344
David Bengston Groveland CA dbengsto@dncinc.com 209-372-8344
Don Reid Joshua Tree CA donnyreid@verizon.net
Mark Grundon yosemite CA markgrundon@yahoo.com (802) 922 4598
Paul Koubek Yosemite CA paulkoubek@gmail.com 360.202.7895
Chris Stewart Yosemite CA candrusstewart@yahoo.com
Tom Carter Carnelian Bay CA tfcarter@gmail.com 530-412-0098
Dave Miller Mammoth Lake CA dave@californiaalpineguides.com 877-686-2546
Jediah Porter Bishop CA jediahmporter@gmail.com 760 920 1403
Lyra Pierotti Vallejo CA pierotly@gmail.com
Ben Mitchell Truckee CA benmitchell17@gmail.com 503-307-1320
Matthew Hegeman Truckee CA matthewhegeman@yahoo.com
Neil Satterfield June Lake CA neil@sierramtnguides.com 760-914-2133
Adrian Ballinger Olympic Valley CA adrian@alpenglowexpeditions.com 970-309-8698
SP Parker Bishop CA sp@sierramountaincenter.com 760-873-8526
Lindsay Fixmer Rifle CO lindsay.fixmer@gmail.com 828.384.8433
Jayson Simons-Jones Crested Butte CO jayson@crestedbutteguides.com 970-349-5430
Matt Wade Ridgway CO info@peakmountainguides.com 970-325-7342
Curtis Green Avon CO curtis_green@msn.com
Dennis Sanders Boulder CO dennissanders619@yahoo.com 520-310-9198
Dawn Glanc Ouray CO dawnglanc@hotmail.com (970) 325-4925
John Bicknell Longmont CO jdrb1957@hotmail.com 303-589-6571
Michael Alkaitis Boulder CO alkaitis@gmail.com 303-865-3607
Amos Whiting Basalt CO info@mallorcaclimbingcamps.com 970-319-1084
Jean Pavillard gunnison CO jean@jpmountainguide.com 970-209-3980
Steve Matous Boulder CO stevecznp@comcast.net
Nathan Disser Durango CO nate@mtnguide.net 970-259-0370
Norie Kizaki Boulder CO noriekizaki@me.com 7203317532
Constantine Severis Telluride CO constantineseveris@hotmail.com
Thomas Kip Davis Leadville CO kipd72@gmail.com 719-293-0773
Dave Ahrens ouray CO alpineahrens@yahoo.com
Rainbow Weinstock Boulder CO rainbowweinstock@gmail.com
Buster Jesik Loveland CO busterjesik@gmail.com 970-290-0469
Matthew Pickren Bayfield CO mattp@swaguides.com 970-259-0370
Chris Burk Boulder CO cburk@totalclimbing.com (914) 434-1529
Michael Arnold Steamboat Springs CO mikeyarno15@gmail.com 970-367-6509
Benjamin Kiessel Durango CO benk@mtnguide.net 970-759-8563
Karen Bockel Telluride CO karen.k2ophir@gmail.com
Jeremiah Meizis Colorado Springs CO info@coclimbing.com 719-209-6649
Chad Peele Ridgway CO peakascents@gmail.com
Steve Johnson Boulder CO stevegjohnson@me.com 720.635.6068
Gary Ryan Ouray CO garyguides@gmail.com 720 304 8707
Bill Grasse Durango CO billg@swaguides.com 970-946-3408
Patrick Ormond Ouray CO pormond@hotmail.com 435-640-8704
Andres Marin Grand Junction CO owclimb@gmail.com
Bob Culp Boulder CO bob@bobculp.com 720 724 3079
Mark Miller Ouray CO rig4rsq@yahoo.com 970-318-0045
Mark Hammond Eldorado Springs CO mhammond@totalclimbing.com 800-836-4008
Daniel Zokaites Ridgway CO zokaites.guide@gmail.com 540-392-5731
Clint Cook Ouray CO clintcookifmga@yahoo.com
Mike Lewis Leadville CO mettafriend@gmail.com 720-454-8698
Ian Fowler Louisville CO ianclimbs@gmail.com 7208104421
Mark Falender Snowmass Village CO mfalender@gmail.com 970-366-1978
Keith Garvey Ridgway CO climb@allmountainadventures.com 970-596-0619
Eric Larson Telluride CO ekkalarson@yahoo.com
Dylan Taylor Boulder CO taylorfoto@gmail.com
Josh Kling Durango CO josh@klingmountainguides.com 970 259-1708
Dale Remsberg Lafayette CO daleremsberg@mac.com 303-818-8009
Nate Emerson Boulder CO npemerson@gmail.com 303.968.5816
Jeff Banks Crested Butte CO jeffbanksguide@mac.com
Michael Soucy Boulder CO mnsoucy@hotmail.com 970-389-7299
Bart Paull Lakewood CO bart.paull@gmail.com 307-690-6550
Markus Beck Boulder CO info@alpineworldascents.com 303-589-1195
Peter Krainz Dillon CO peterkrainz@comcast.net (970)409-9555
Steve Banks Crested Butte CO steve@stevebanksmountainguide.com 970-209-7165
Angela Hawse Ridgway CO angela@alpinist007.com 970-318-9000
Dick Jackson Aspen CO dickjackson@aspenexpeditions.com 970-925-7625
Steven House Ridgway CO stevehouse10@yahoo.com
Vince Anderson Grand Junction CO vinceanderson@hotmail.com 970-209-2985
Eli Helmuth Estes Park CO guide@climbinglife.com 970-744-4898
Eric Whewell Boulder CO whewelleric@gmail.com 970 596-7705
Andrew Councell Estes Park CO acouncell@totalclimbing.com 970.776.6847
Majka Burhardt Boulder CO mb@majkaburhardt.com 970-290-7822
Robert Coppolillo Boulder CO coppolillo@gmail.com
Tim Brown Crested Butte CO timbrown365@gmail.com
Bob Clark East Hartford CT bobbo@alpineendeavors.com 860-930-5929
Kevin Johnson Hartford CT kevin@alpineendeavors.com 518-301-3800
Roger Fleming Cumming GA roger.fleming@mensa.ch
Marc Hanselman Ketchum ID marc@alpineprointernational.com 208-720-6369
Trevor Deighton Victor ID trevordeighton@gmail.com
James Olson Victor ID jimolson@ida.net 208-787-9038
Erik Leidecker Hailey ID erikl@sawtoothguides.com 208-720-1823
Christian Santelices Victor ID cesantelices@gmail.com +1 (307) 690-1385
Karsten Delap Columbus IN karstendelap@yahoo.com 812-371-7826
Ryan Stefiuk Northampton MA ryan@valleyvertical.com 802-779-7139
Chad Cochran Fallston MD chad6071@msn.com 443-392-4806
Joel Enrico Brunswick ME joel.enrico@yahoo.com 207/522/4190
Jon Tierney Orono ME climb@acadiamountainguides.com 207-866-7562 year round
Alexis Finley Saint Louis MO info@pangaeamountainguides.com 520-207-6564
Robert Montague Somers MT montaguemountaineering@gmail.com 406 407 2807
Kristoffer Erickson Livingston MT kristofferjerickson@gmail.com 406-581-2266
Alan Oram Bozeman MT aoram1755@gmail.com
Tyler Jones Bozeman MT jo16nes@hotmail.com 208.720.1185
Ron Funderburke Mills River NC ron@foxmountainguides.com 828-388-0033
Art Mooney New Hampton NH artmooney@me.com 603-744-5853
Marc Chauvin North Conway NH marc@chauvinguides.com 603-356-8919
Peter Doucette Intervale NH peter@mountainsenseguides.com 603-616-7455
Joe Lentini Conway NH lentini@roadrunner.com 603-662-7024
Mark Synnott Jackson NH mark@synnottmountainguides.com
Alain Comeau North Conway NH arc@fairpoint.net 603 662 6306
Marc Beverly Albuquerque NM marc@beverlymountainguides.com 505-264-8364
Carolyn Parker Albuquerque NM carolyn@athenafit.com 505-400-5590
John Kear Edgewood NM John@suntoucher.com 505-400-2529
Marc Ripperger Albuquerque NM marcripperger@yahoo.com
Paul Johnson Edgewood NM pauljsma@yahoo.com 505-550-0348
Edward Boddy Las Vegas NV edboddy@cox.net 702-596-0114
John Cleary Reno NV jgcleary@pyramid.net (775) 852-4049
Anthony Brown Minden NV tony@mtadventure.com 775-781-4708
Robert Goodwin Las Vegas NV goodwin.bob@gmail.com 702-236-1970
Tracy Martin Las Vegas NV tracypmartin@me.com
Elaina Arenz Las Vegas NV elaina@newriverclimbing.com 304-237-8144
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Emilie Drinkwater Wilmington NY emilie@cloudsplitterguides.com 5185340845
Martin Molitoris Rosendale NY marty@alpineendeavors.com 877-486-5769
Silas Rossi New Paltz NY silas@alpine-logic.com 207-949-1736
Nick Pope Portland OR nick@timberlinemtguides.com 503-358-3195
Jim Ablao Bend OR info@chockstoneclimbing.com 541-318-7170
Chris Wright Bend OR chris@nowclimbing.com 970-325-3186
Gabriel Coler Bend OR gabriel@hiddencrag.com
Clifford Agocs Bend OR clifford.agocs@gmail.com 415-205-0567
Pete Keane Bend OR pete@timberlinemtguides.com 541-312-9242
Max Tepfer Eugene OR mtepfer@gmail.com
Dominic Asselin Val-David QC dominic@attitudemontagne.com 450-229-8229
Tico Gangulee Houston TX tico.allulee@gmail.com
Randy Judycki Austin TX judyckir@yahoo.com 805 350 8087
Andreas Polloczek Kamas UT andypolloczek@hotmail.com
Ian Wade Sandy UT ianwade@adventuresafety.org
Michael Banach Springdale UT michael@zionmountainschool.com
Aimee Barnes Moab UT aimee@moabite.com 435-260-0990
Willie Benegas Sandy UT willie@benegasbrothers.com 801-512-0592
Alan Rousseau Salt Lake City UT alaninthealpine@gmail.com 2036052128
Jeff Rhoads Salt Lake City UT skylineventures@comcast.net 801-230-4451
Andy Rich Salt Lake City UT arichy@gmail.com
Josh Beckner Salt Lake City UT info@expeditiontraining.org 760.920.3464
Todd Passey Salt Lake City UT toddpassey@gmail.com 801 842-8398
Tim Connelly Salt Lake City UT tcgoneclimbing@gmail.com 360-319-1089
Jonathon Spitzer Cottonwood Heights UT jonathon.spitzer@gmail.com 970 596 5971
Higinio Gonzalez Salt Lake City UT higiniojuan65@yahoo.com 801-707-5678
Mark Puleio Hyde Park VT mark@alpineguidesinterntaional.com 802 585 9061
Dustin Dearborn Jeffersonville VT dustinsdearborn@yahoo.com
Geoff Schellens Norwich VT geoffschellens@gmail.com 802-683-8578
Nate Furman Rutland VT furmann@greenmtn.edu 8025588055
Nick Yardley Williston VT nick@julboinc.com 802-651-0833
Kel Rossiter Burlington VT adventurespiritguides@gmail.com 802-535-1498
Kevin Mahoney Richmond VT kbmbarn@gmail.com 603-387-3879
Eitan Green Seattle WA eitan.s.green@gmail.com 6178356054
Mick Pearson Seattle WA mick@kafadventures.com
Forest McBrian Seattle WA fmcbrian@gmail.com 503 740-5280
Kurt Hicks Seattle WA kurthicks@gmail.com 360-303-7641
Lyle Haugsven Seattle WA lyle@northcoastalpineguides.com 360-319-9773
Olivia Cussen Leavenworth WA olivia@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Ben Gardner Seattle WA ben.gardner@gmail.com 7196469700
Margaret Wheeler Snoqualmie WA marg@proguiding.com 206-818-7947
Mike Powers Spokane WA poowers@earthlink.net (360) 671-1505
Lee Lazzara Bellingham WA lee.lazzara@yahoo.com
Jeff Ward Leavenworth WA jeff@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Martin Volken North Bend WA martinvolken@proguiding.com 206-525-4425
Austin Shannon Bothell WA austin.shannon@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Tod Bloxham Tacoma WA tod@edgeworksclimbing.com 253-564-4899
Chris Simmons Seattle WA chris@chrissimmonsguiding.com 206-715-7589
John Race Leavenworth WA jr@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Aaron Mainer Enumclaw WA aaron.mainer@mountainguides.com (509)995-5042
Larry Goldie Winthrop WA larry@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Mark Allen Winthrop WA alpinelines@gmail.com 360-305-2383
Ian Nicholson Seattle WA ian@supertopo.com 206-852-2342
Jason Martin Bellingham WA jason@alpineinstitute.com 360-671-1505
Massey Teel Seneca Rocks WV massey@climbseneca.com 304-567-2600
Bill Dyer Wilson WY bdyer100@gmail.com 307-690-3235
Tom Hargis Jackson WY hargis@wyoming.com 307-733-2297
Daniel Corn Kelly WY dancorn@nhva.net 307-733-2297
Rob Hess Jackson WY rob@jhmg.com (307) 733-4979
Brian Smith Jackson WY powderstasher@hotmail.com (307)413-0331
Jim Williams Jackson WY pmg@atrav.com 307-733-8812
Bill Anderson Jackson WY bill@mountainguidewyoming.com 307-690-5136
Nat Patridge Jackson WY nat@exumguides.com 307-733-2297
Mike Poborsky Jackson WY mike@exumguides.com 307-413-8947
Gary Falk Wilson WY garyfalk1@yahoo.com
Kent McBride Jackson Hole WY mountainsense@gmail.com 307-690-7205
Mark Smiley Jackson WY mark@saltmountaineering.com 970 901 8079
Michael Abbey Wilson WY michaelabbey@excite.com 619-871-2461
Jeff Witt Jackson WY jwittguide@yahoo.com