Interior About
AMGA

Certified Rock Guide

Terrain Description: Rock Guide

When rock guide certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Rock Guides are required to operate only within the confines of the rock guide certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Rock Guide is allowed to guide when rock certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

Rock Guide certification is designed to apply to all Rock Instructor terrain, but also includes climbs of much greater length, including big wall and aid climbs, and climbs on which significant short roping is appropriate for the safeguarding of clients on either approaches or descents. Rock Guide certification is not, however, applicable to terrain, which is alpine in nature, that is, remote, or involves technical snow or technical glaciated or icy terrain.

Certified Rock Guides are permitted to conduct their profession on all rock routes which:

  • Are Grade IV or Grade V in length
  • Approaches and descent may require extensive use of short-roping technique for security
  • Routes may be remote in nature
  • Do not involve glacier travel, the use of skis or exposure to avalanche risk
Rock Guide Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Kathy Cosley 74310 Les Houches kathy@cosleyhouston.com +33 601912477
Mark Houston 74310 Les Houches mark@cosleyhouston.com
Hans Solmssen Verbier hans.solmssen@gmail.com 011-41-79-446-2289
Miles Smart Chamonix - smartguides@mac.com
Rodrigo Mujica Chile - summit@patagonicas.com 888-203-9354
Seth Hobby Kabelvag - seth@alpineguides.no + 47 942 49110
Danny Uhlmann Chamonix Mont-Blanc - danny@firstlightmountainguides.com +33 6 40 89 85 40
Matt Farmer Chamonix Mont-Blanc - farmer@mountainguides.com France mobile +33 6 84 07 61 90
Dan McQuade Un Pao, Phang Nga, Thailand - danusa417@hotmail.com 702 334-0423
Thor Husted chamonix - thorhusted54@hotmail.com +33649038986
Elizabeth Oakes Smart Chamonix-Les Alpes - smartguides@mac.com +1 206 925 3991
Caroline George Chamonix - carolinewaregeorge@gmail.com
Adam Fox Tauranga - New Zealand - adamsfox@icloud.com +64-21-151-9011
Adam George Chamonix - sendadamnews@gmail.com
Joe Stock Anchorage AK stockalpine@gmail.com 907-830-0125
Jamie Pierce Juneau AK jpierce11@uas.alaska.edu 907-500-3127
David Merin Tuscon AZ DavidMerin18@gmail.com 520-300-0809
K.C. Baum Flagstaff AZ Thoth1111@aol.com 928-255-2924
Kellie Erwin-Rhoads Golden BC kellie@redshift.bc.ca 250-344-5707
Evan Stevens Garibaldi Highlands BC evanstevens@gmail.com 6048485466
Buck Corrigan Revelstoke BC aroo@telus.net 250-814 8494
Jim Ongena Summerland BC Jim@corporateheights.ca 250-486-7166
James Michael Horst Squamish BC mountainhorst@gmail.com
Mike Bromberg Revelstoke BC mike@mikebromberg.com 250-814-4386
Ryan Tetz Bishop CA climbingryan@gmail.com 530-558-5323
Carlos Romero Livermore CA 925-980-4152
Mark Grundon yosemite CA markgrundon@yahoo.com (802) 922 4598
Paul Koubek Yosemite CA paulkoubek@gmail.com 360.202.7895
Jediah Porter Bishop CA jediahmporter@gmail.com 760 920 1403
Ben Mitchell Truckee CA benmitchell17@gmail.com 503-307-1320
Aaron Richards Bishop CA aaronlrichards@gmail.com 541-602-6277
Chris Ecklund Bishop CA climbwithecklund@hotmail.com 760-920-1590
Tom Carter Carnelian Bay CA tfcarter@gmail.com 530-412-0098
David Bengston Groveland CA dbengsto@dncinc.com 209-372-8344
Peter Fasoldt truckee CA pfasoldt@gmail.com 2077560384
Lyra Pierotti Vallejo CA pierotly@gmail.com
Dave Miller Mammoth Lake CA dave@californiaalpineguides.com 877-686-2546
Nathan Kerr El Portal CA nate@dharmaguides.net 209-372-8344
Ben Traxler Mammoth Lakes CA info@southwestclimbing.com 928-899-4940
Steve Schneider Oakland CA blondeshipoopi@yahoo.com 209-988-9044
Bela Vadasz Truckee CA bela@alpineskills.com 530-582-9170
Ryan Huetter Mammoth Lakes CA ryanahuetter@gmail.com
Logan Talbott Truckee CA logdoglogan@gmail.com
SP Parker Bishop CA sp@sierramountaincenter.com 760-873-8526
Trevor Hobbs Bishop CA hobbstrevor@gmail.com 209-988-1792
Chris Werner Truckee CA cghorizon@gmail.com 805-570-7534
Aaron Jones Bishop CA aaronjjones86@gmail.com
Sebastian Grau Petaluma CA grauseba@yahoo.com
Viren Perumal Mammoth Lakes CA Viren.perumal@gmail.com 937-286-0760
Matt Brooks Fremont CA rewmb@aol.com 510-797-7980
Adrian Ballinger Olympic Valley CA adrian@alpenglowexpeditions.com 970-309-8698
Neil Satterfield June Lake CA neil@sierramtnguides.com 760-914-2133
Mark Bowling Joshua Tree CA climb@joshuatreerockclimbing.com 800-890-4745
Doug Nidever June Lake CA doug@themountainguide.com 760-937-6922
Chris Stewart Yosemite CA candrusstewart@yahoo.com
Howie Schwartz Bishop CA howie@sierramtnguides.com 760-648-1122
Dave Ahrens Ridgway CO alpineahrens@yahoo.com
Jayson Simons-Jones Crested Butte CO jayson@crestedbutteguides.com 970-349-5430
Matt Wade Ridgway CO info@peakmountainguides.com 970-325-7342
Phil Powers Denver CO ppowers@americanalpineclub.org 303-905-6330
Curtis Green Avon CO curtis_green@msn.com
Dennis Sanders Boulder CO dennissanders619@yahoo.com 520-310-9198
Dawn Glanc Ouray CO dawnglanc@hotmail.com (970) 325-4925
John Bicknell Longmont CO jdrb1957@hotmail.com 303-589-6571
Amos Whiting Basalt CO info@mallorcaclimbingcamps.com 970-319-1084
Antoine Savelli Ophir CO antoinesavelli@aol.com 970-728-3705
Jean Pavillard gunnison CO jean@jpmountainguide.com 970-209-3980
Steve Matous Boulder CO stevecznp@comcast.net
Nathan Disser Ouray CO nate@mtnguide.net 970-259-0370
John MacKinnon Leadville CO jwmackinnon@gmail.com 970-236-6130
Norie Kizaki Boulder CO noriekizaki@me.com 7203317532
Constantine Severis Telluride CO constantineseveris@hotmail.com
Thomas Kip Davis Leadville CO kipd72@gmail.com 719-293-0773
Joe Thompson Erie CO climberjoeyt@gmail.com 303 472 5920
Rainbow Weinstock Boulder CO rainbowweinstock@gmail.com
Buster Jesik Loveland CO busterjesik@gmail.com 970-290-0469
Matthew Pickren Bayfield CO mattp@swaguides.com 970-259-0370
Chris Burk Boulder CO cburk@totalclimbing.com (914) 434-1529
Michael Arnold Steamboat Springs CO mikeyarno15@gmail.com 970-367-6509
Benjamin Kiessel Durango CO benk@mtnguide.net 970-759-8563
Jeremiah Meizis Colorado Springs CO info@coclimbing.com 719-209-6649
Chad Peele Ridgway CO peakascents@gmail.com
Steve Johnson Boulder CO stevegjohnson@me.com 720.635.6068
Gary Ryan Ouray CO garyguides@gmail.com 720 304 8707
Andres Marin Ouray CO owclimb@gmail.com
Steve Levin Boulder CO slevin@totalclimbing.com 800-836-4008
Bob Culp Boulder CO bob@bobculp.com 720 724 3079
Mark Miller Ouray CO rig4rsq@yahoo.com 970-318-0045
Mark Hammond Eldorado Springs CO mhammond@totalclimbing.com 800-836-4008
Daniel Zokaites Ridgway CO zokaites.guide@gmail.com 540-392-5731
Mike Lewis Boulder CO mettafriend@gmail.com 720-454-8698
Mark Falender Snowmass Village CO mfalender@gmail.com 970-366-1978
Keith Garvey Ridgway CO climb@allmountainadventures.com 970-596-0619
Eric Larson Telluride CO ekkalarson@yahoo.com
Dylan Taylor Boulder CO taylorfoto@gmail.com
Dale Remsberg Lafayette CO daleremsberg@mac.com 303-818-8009
Josh Kling Durango CO josh@klingmountainguides.com 970 259-1708
Nate Emerson Boulder CO npemerson@gmail.com 303.968.5816
Michael Soucy Boulder CO mnsoucy@hotmail.com 970-389-7299
Bart Paull Lakewood CO bart.paull@gmail.com 307-690-6550
Steve Banks Crested Butte CO steve@stevebanksmountainguide.com 970-209-7165
Vince Anderson Grand Junction CO vinceanderson@hotmail.com 970-209-2985
Markus Beck Boulder CO info@alpineworldascents.com 303-589-1195
Jeff Banks Crested Butte CO jeffbanksguide@mac.com
Peter Krainz Dillon CO peterkrainz@comcast.net (970)409-9555
Dick Jackson Aspen CO dickjackson@aspenexpeditions.com 970-925-7625
Steven House Ridgway CO stevehouse10@yahoo.com
Eric Whewell Boulder CO whewelleric@gmail.com 970 596-7705
Angela Hawse Ridgway CO angela@alpinist007.com 970-318-9000
Andrew Councell Estes Park CO acouncell@totalclimbing.com 970.776.6847
Majka Burhardt Boulder CO mb@majkaburhardt.com 970-290-7822
Robert Coppolillo Boulder CO coppolillo@gmail.com
Lindsay Fixmer Rifle CO lindsay.fixmer@gmail.com 828.384.8433
Tim Brown Crested Butte CO timbrown365@gmail.com
Adam Butterfield Fairfield CT
Kevin Johnson Hartford CT kevin@alpineendeavors.com 518-301-3800
Roger Fleming Cumming GA roger.fleming@mensa.ch
Drew Daly Ketchum ID daly.drew@gmail.com
Christian Santelices Victor ID cesantelices@gmail.com +1 (307) 690-1385
Marc Hanselman Ketchum ID proalpineguide@gmail.com 208-720-6369
James Olson Victor ID jimolson@ida.net 208-787-9038
Trevor Deighton Victor ID trevordeighton@gmail.com
Erik Leidecker Hailey ID erikl@sawtoothguides.com 208-720-1823
Karsten Delap Columbus IN karstendelap@yahoo.com 812-371-7826
Ryan Stefiuk Northampton MA ryan@valleyvertical.com 802-779-7139
Chad Cochran Fallston MD chad6071@msn.com 443-392-4806
Joel Enrico Brunswick ME joel.enrico@yahoo.com 207/522/4190
Jon Tierney Orono ME climb@acadiamountainguides.com 207-866-7562 year round
Alexis Finley Saint Louis MO alexismfinley@gmail.com 207-664-9668
Alan Oram Bozeman MT aoram1755@gmail.com
Jerome Smart Livingston MT jeromemsmart@yahoo.com
Robert Montague Somers MT montaguemountaineering@gmail.com 406 407 2807
Kristoffer Erickson Livingston MT kristofferjerickson@gmail.com 406-581-2266
Tyler Jones Bozeman MT jo16nes@hotmail.com 208.720.1185
Ron Funderburke Mills River NC ron@foxmountainguides.com 828-388-0033
Art Mooney New Hampton NH artmooney@me.com 603-744-5853
Peter Doucette Intervale NH peter@mountainsenseguides.com 603-616-7455
Mark Synnott Jackson NH mark@synnottmountainguides.com
Michael Silitch Dublin NH michael@high-alpine.com 011 336 89 48 41 18
Alain Comeau North Conway NH arc@fairpoint.net 603 662 6306
Marc Chauvin North Conway NH marc@chauvinguides.com 603-356-8919
Joe Lentini Conway NH lentini@roadrunner.com 603-662-7024
Paul Johnson Edgewood NM pauljsma@yahoo.com 505-550-0348
Marc Beverly Albuquerque NM marc@beverlymountainguides.com 505-264-8364
John Kear Edgewood NM John@suntoucher.com 505-400-2529
Marc Ripperger Albuquerque NM marcripperger@yahoo.com
Elaina Arenz Las Vegas NV elaina@newriverclimbing.com 304-237-8144
Edward Boddy Las Vegas NV edboddy@cox.net 702-596-0114
Tracy Martin Las Vegas NV tracypmartin@me.com
Anthony Brown Minden NV tony@mtadventure.com 775-781-4708
Robert Goodwin Las Vegas NV goodwin.bob@gmail.com 702-236-1970
John Cleary Reno NV jgcleary@pyramid.net (775) 852-4049
Andrew Yasso Henderson NV andrew@alpineinstitute.com 248-342-9359
Emilie Drinkwater Wilmington NY emilie@cloudsplitterguides.com 5185340845
Geoff Unger Rosendale NY info@geoffungermountainguide.com (206) 619-3034
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Silas Rossi New Paltz NY silas@alpine-logic.com 207-949-1736
Jim Ablao Bend OR info@chockstoneclimbing.com 541-318-7170
Chris Wright Bend OR chris@nowclimbing.com 970-325-3186
Max Tepfer Eugene OR mtepfer@gmail.com
Gabriel Coler Bend OR gabriel@hiddencrag.com
Pete Keane Bend OR pete@timberlinemtguides.com 541-312-9242
Clifford Agocs Bend OR clifford.agocs@gmail.com 415-205-0567
Randy Judycki Austin TX judyckir@yahoo.com 805 350 8087
Tico Gangulee Houston TX tico.allulee@gmail.com
Aimee Barnes Moab UT aimee@moabite.com 435-260-0990
Andreas Polloczek Kamas UT andypolloczek@hotmail.com
Josh Beckner Salt Lake City UT info@expeditiontraining.org 760.920.3464
Todd Passey Salt Lake City UT toddpassey@gmail.com 801 842-8398
Higinio Gonzalez Salt Lake City UT higiniojuan65@yahoo.com 801-707-5678
Matt Culberson Holladay UT mculberson@mcgillisschool.org
Derek DeBruin Ogden UT dmdebruin@gmail.com 803-629-6590
Jeff Rhoads Salt Lake City UT skylineventures@comcast.net 801-230-4451
Matthew Pesce Moab UT
Alan Rousseau Salt Lake City UT alaninthealpine@gmail.com 2036052128
Willie Benegas Sandy UT willie@benegasbrothers.com 801-512-0592
Nate Furman Salt Lake City UT nathanfurman@gmail.com 8025588055
Andy Rich Salt Lake City UT arichy@gmail.com
Ian Wade Sandy UT ianwade@adventuresafety.org +1 801 560 1287
Michael Banach Springdale UT michael@zionmountainschool.com
Jonathon Spitzer Cottonwood Heights UT jonathon.spitzer@gmail.com 970 596 5971
Kevin Mahoney Richmond VT kbmbarn@gmail.com 603-387-3879
Stephen Charest Jericho VT steve@petracliffs.com 802-657-3872
Nick Yardley Williston VT nick@julboinc.com 802-651-0833
Dustin Dearborn Jeffersonville VT dustinsdearborn@yahoo.com
Mark Puleio Hyde Park VT mark@alpineguidesinterntaional.com 802 585 9061
Kel Rossiter Burlington VT adventurespiritguides@gmail.com 802-535-1498
Geoff Schellens Norwich VT geoffschellens@gmail.com 802-683-8578
Aaron Mainer Enumclaw WA aaron.mainer@mountainguides.com (509)995-5042
Margaret Wheeler Snoqualmie WA marg@proguiding.com 206-818-7947
Jeff Ward Leavenworth WA jeff@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Larry Goldie Winthrop WA larry@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
John Race Leavenworth WA jr@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Chris Simmons Seattle WA chris@chrissimmonsguiding.com 206-715-7589
Mark Allen Winthrop WA alpinelines@gmail.com 360-305-2383
Ben Gardner Seattle WA ben.gardner@gmail.com 7196469700
Lyle Haugsven Seattle WA lyle@northcoastalpineguides.com 360-319-9773
Olivia Cussen Leavenworth WA olivia@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Jason Martin Bellingham WA jason@alpineinstitute.com 360-671-1505
Mick Pearson Seattle WA mick@kafadventures.com
Kurt Hicks Leavenworth WA kurthicks@gmail.com 360-303-7641
Lee Lazzara Bellingham WA lee.lazzara@yahoo.com
Austin Shannon Bothell WA austin.shannon@mountainguides.com 719-332-3940
Tod Bloxham Tacoma WA tod@edgeworksclimbing.com 253-564-4899
Martin Volken North Bend WA martinvolken@proguiding.com 206-525-4425
Forest McBrian Seattle WA fmcbrian@gmail.com 503 740-5280
Ian Nicholson Seattle WA ian@supertopo.com 206-852-2342
Braden Downey Bellingham WA downey.87@gmail.com 6143156226
Massey Teel Seneca Rocks WV massey@climbseneca.com 304-567-2600
Rob Hess Jackson WY rob@jhmg.com (307) 733-4979
Bill Anderson Jackson WY bill@mountainguidewyoming.com 307-690-5136
Bill Dyer Wilson WY bdyer100@gmail.com 307-690-3235
Jeff Witt Jackson WY jwittguide@yahoo.com
Dan Starr Jackson WY starrdan@earthlink.net
Daniel Corn Kelly WY dancorn@nhva.net 307-733-2297
Zahan Billimoria Jackson WY zahan007@gmail.com
Gary Falk Wilson WY garyfalk1@yahoo.com
Micah Rush Casper WY wyoboulder@hotmail.com 307-267-4815
Mike Poborsky Jackson WY mikepoborsky@mac.com 307-413-8947
Karen Bockel Jackson WY karen.k2ophir@gmail.com
Brian Smith Jackson WY powderstasher@hotmail.com (307)413-0331
Nat Patridge Jackson WY nat@exumguides.com 307-733-2297
Tom Hargis Jackson WY hargis@wyoming.com 307-733-2297