Interior About
AMGA

Certified Alpine Guide

Terrain Description: Alpine Guide

When alpine certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Alpine Guides are required to operate only within the confines of the alpine certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Alpine Guide is allowed to guide when alpine certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

Alpine terrain includes glaciated and non-glaciated peaks, approaches and climbs, with no limitation with respect to season and elevation. It includes rock climbs, peak ascents, waterfall climbs and expeditionary climbing.

Alpine guides are allowed to conduct their profession on all alpine and rock terrains which:

  • Are Yosemite Decimal System (YDS) Grade V or shorter (for rock routes)
  • Are not conducted on skis where the main objective of the outing is either a ski tour or the enjoyment of downhill skiing
  • YDS Grade V or longer rock routes in alpine settings are allowed to AMGA guides who hold both Alpine and Rock Guide Certifications
Alpine Guide Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Kathy Cosley 74310 Les Houches kathy@cosleyhouston.com +33 601912477
Mark Houston 74310 Les Houches mark@cosleyhouston.com
Hans Solmssen Verbier hans.solmssen@gmail.com 011-41-79-446-2289
Caroline George Chamonix - carolinewaregeorge@gmail.com
David Vallet Cape Town - davidvallet@gmail.com
Geoff Unger Chamonix - info@geoffungermountainguide.com (206) 619-3034
Seth Hobby Kabelvag - seth@alpineguides.no + 47 942 49110
Matt Farmer Chamonix Mont-Blanc - farmer@mountainguides.com France mobile +33 6 84 07 61 90
Danny Uhlmann Chamonix Mont-Blanc - danny@firstlightmountainguides.com +33 6 40 89 85 40
Thor Husted chamonix - thorhusted54@hotmail.com +33649038986
Elizabeth Oakes Smart Chamonix-Les Alpes - smartguides@mac.com
Miles Smart Chamonix - smartguides@mac.com
Adam George Chamonix - sendadamnews@gmail.com
Rodrigo Mujica Chile - summit@patagonicas.com 888-203-9354
David Burns Wasilla AK dburns30356@gmail.com
Jamie Pierce Juneau AK jpierce11@uas.alaska.edu 907-500-3127
Willi Prittie Talkeetna AK willi@mtaonline.net 206-378-1927
Joe Stock Anchorage AK stockalpine@gmail.com 907-830-0125
Steve Young Anchorage AK 11543 907-245-1243
Evan Stevens Garibaldi Highlands BC evanstevens@gmail.com 6048485466
Mike Bromberg Revelstoke BC mike@mikebromberg.com 250-814-4386
Buck Corrigan Revelstoke BC aroo@telus.net 250-814 8494
Matthew Hegeman Truckee CA matthewhegeman@yahoo.com
Howie Schwartz Bishop CA howie@sierramtnguides.com 760-648-1122
Bela Vadasz Truckee CA bela@alpineskills.com 530-582-9170
Jediah Porter Bishop CA jediahmporter@gmail.com 760 920 1403
Adrian Ballinger Olympic Valley CA adrian@alpenglowexpeditions.com 970-309-8698
Doug Robinson Kirkwood CA drobinson@movingoverstone.com 831.234.0177
Doug Nidever June Lake CA doug@themountainguide.com 760-937-6922
Ben Mitchell Truckee CA benmitchell17@gmail.com 503-307-1320
Dave Miller Mammoth Lake CA dave@californiaalpineguides.com 877-686-2546
Kurt Wedberg Bishop CA info@sierramountaineering.com 760-872-4929
Neil Satterfield June Lake CA neil@sierramtnguides.com 760-914-2133
Matt Brooks Fremont CA rewmb@aol.com 510-797-7980
SP Parker Bishop CA sp@sierramountaincenter.com 760-873-8526
Dale Remsberg Lafayette CO daleremsberg@mac.com 303-818-8009
Clint Cook Ouray CO clintcookifmga@yahoo.com
Mark Falender Snowmass Village CO mfalender@gmail.com 970-366-1978
Tim Brown Crested Butte CO timbrown365@gmail.com
Frank Coffey Crested Butte CO frankmcoffey@gmail.com
Steven Schreiber Basalt CO mthuttheliguides@comcast.net +1 970 309 1093
Andrew Councell Estes Park CO acouncell@totalclimbing.com 970.776.6847
Joe Thompson Erie CO climberjoeyt@gmail.com 303 472 5920
Eric Whewell Boulder CO whewelleric@gmail.com 970 596-7705
Eli Helmuth Estes Park CO guide@climbinglife.com 970-744-4898
Vince Anderson Grand Junction CO vinceanderson@hotmail.com 970-209-2985
Dawn Glanc Ouray CO dawnglanc@hotmail.com (970) 325-4925
John Bicknell Longmont CO jdrb1957@hotmail.com 303-589-6571
Steven House Ridgway CO stevehouse10@yahoo.com
Amos Whiting Basalt CO info@mallorcaclimbingcamps.com 970-319-1084
Dick Jackson Aspen CO dickjackson@aspenexpeditions.com 970-925-7625
Jean Pavillard gunnison CO jean@jpmountainguide.com 970-209-3980
Steve Matous Boulder CO stevecznp@comcast.net
Nathan Disser Durango CO nate@mtnguide.net 970-259-0370
Constantine Severis Telluride CO constantineseveris@hotmail.com
Angela Hawse Ridgway CO angela@alpinist007.com 970-318-9000
Steve Banks Crested Butte CO steve@stevebanksmountainguide.com 970-209-7165
Dave Ahrens ouray CO alpineahrens@yahoo.com
Peter Krainz Dillon CO peterkrainz@comcast.net (970)409-9555
Michael Walter Snowmass CO mountainguide@live.com 970-618-3953
Markus Beck Boulder CO info@alpineworldascents.com 303-589-1195
Bart Paull Lakewood CO bart.paull@gmail.com 307-690-6550
Michael Soucy Boulder CO mnsoucy@hotmail.com 970-389-7299
Jeff Banks Crested Butte CO jeffbanksguide@mac.com
Chad Peele Ridgway CO peakascents@gmail.com
Steve Johnson Boulder CO stevegjohnson@me.com 720.635.6068
Patrick Ormond Ouray CO pormond@hotmail.com 435-640-8704
Dylan Taylor Boulder CO taylorfoto@gmail.com
Eric Larson Telluride CO ekkalarson@yahoo.com
Andres Marin Grand Junction CO owclimb@gmail.com
Keith Garvey Ridgway CO climb@allmountainadventures.com 970-596-0619
Bob Clark East Hartford CT bobbo@alpineendeavors.com 860-930-5929
Roger Fleming Cumming GA roger.fleming@mensa.ch
Kirk Bachman Stanley ID kirk@sawtoothguides.com 208-559-7590
Peter Whittaker Ketchum ID peter@rmiguide.com 360-791-3289
Greg Wilson Hailey ID gregwilson1@earthlink.net 208-720-4835
Marc Hanselman Ketchum ID marc@alpineprointernational.com 208-720-6369
Erik Leidecker Hailey ID erikl@sawtoothguides.com 208-720-1823
Christian Santelices Victor ID cesantelices@gmail.com +1 (307) 690-1385
Karsten Delap Columbus IN karstendelap@yahoo.com 812-371-7826
Chris Warner Columbia MD cw@earthtreksclimbing.com 800-CLIMB-UP ext 16
Jon Tierney Orono ME climb@acadiamountainguides.com 207-866-7562 year round
Kurt Winkler Brownfield ME kurt@winklermountainguide.com 207-739-9358
Skip Horner Victor MT skip@skiphorner.com 406-642-6840
Robert Montague Somers MT montaguemountaineering@gmail.com 406 407 2807
Jack Tackle Bozeman MT alpinejava@gmail.com 208-270-1530
Tyler Jones Bozeman MT jo16nes@hotmail.com 208.720.1185
Marc Chauvin North Conway NH marc@chauvinguides.com 603-356-8919
Art Mooney New Hampton NH artmooney@me.com 603-744-5853
Alain Comeau North Conway NH arc@fairpoint.net 603 662 6306
Mark Synnott Jackson NH mark@synnottmountainguides.com
Peter Doucette Intervale NH peter@mountainsenseguides.com 603-616-7455
John Kear Edgewood NM John@suntoucher.com 505-400-2529
Marc Ripperger Albuquerque NM marcripperger@yahoo.com
Marc Beverly Albuquerque NM marc@beverlymountainguides.com 505-264-8364
Martin Molitoris Rosendale NY marty@alpineendeavors.com 877-486-5769
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Silas Rossi New Paltz NY silas@alpine-logic.com 207-949-1736
Chris Wright Bend OR chris@nowclimbing.com 970-325-3186
Nick Pope Portland OR nick@timberlinemtguides.com 503-358-3195
Gabriel Coler Bend OR gabriel@hiddencrag.com
Pete Keane Bend OR pete@timberlinemtguides.com 541-312-9242
Scott Woolums Hood River OR Scott@ExploreYourPlanet.com +1-541-490-5028
Tico Gangulee Houston TX tico.allulee@gmail.com
Tim Connelly Salt Lake City UT tcgoneclimbing@gmail.com 360-319-1089
Jonathon Spitzer Cottonwood Heights UT jonathon.spitzer@gmail.com 970 596 5971
Alan Rousseau Salt Lake City UT alaninthealpine@gmail.com 2036052128
Willie Benegas Sandy UT willie@benegasbrothers.com 801-512-0592
Rick Wyatt Sandy UT leeswyatt@hotmail.com 307-733-2297
Jeff Rhoads Salt Lake City UT skylineventures@comcast.net 801-230-4451
Todd Passey Salt Lake City UT toddpassey@gmail.com 801 842-8398
Evelyn Lees Sandy UT evelyn@utahavalanchecenter.org 307-733-2297
Mark Puleio Hyde Park VT mark@alpineguidesinterntaional.com 802 585 9061
Dustin Dearborn Jeffersonville VT dustinsdearborn@yahoo.com
Kevin Mahoney Richmond VT kbmbarn@gmail.com 603-387-3879
Kel Rossiter Burlington VT adventurespiritguides@gmail.com 802-535-1498
Alan Kearney Bellingham WA alanjayk@comcast.net 360-671-1505
Mark Allen Winthrop WA alpinelines@gmail.com 360-305-2383
Larry Goldie Winthrop WA larry@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
John Race Leavenworth WA jr@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Chris Simmons Seattle WA chris@chrissimmonsguiding.com 206-715-7589
Peter Athans Bainbridge Island WA
Craig Van Hoy Gig Harbor WA info@gotrek.com 253-549-5350
Margaret Wheeler Snoqualmie WA marg@proguiding.com 206-818-7947
Lyle Haugsven Seattle WA lyle@northcoastalpineguides.com 360-319-9773
Tod Bloxham Tacoma WA tod@edgeworksclimbing.com 253-564-4899
Lee Lazzara Bellingham WA lee.lazzara@yahoo.com
Aaron Mainer Enumclaw WA aaron.mainer@mountainguides.com (509)995-5042
Ian Nicholson Seattle WA ian@supertopo.com 206-852-2342
Olivia Cussen Leavenworth WA olivia@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Mike Powers Spokane WA poowers@earthlink.net (360) 671-1505
Michael O'Donnell Vancouver WA michaelo@ghvalley.net
Martin Volken North Bend WA martinvolken@proguiding.com 206-525-4425
Forest McBrian Seattle WA fmcbrian@gmail.com 503 740-5280
Jason Edwards University Place WA jason.edwards@mountainguides.com 253-566-2600
Jeff Ward Leavenworth WA jeff@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Phil Ershler Kirkland WA phil@mountainguides.com 360 569 2609
George Dunn Ashford WA george@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Eric Simonson Ashford WA eric@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Justin Merle Kent WA justin.merle@mountainguides.com 253-350-7628
Kurt Hicks Seattle WA kurthicks@gmail.com 360-303-7641
Kim Schmitz jackson WY kschmitz@bresnan.net 307-739-9269
Michael Abbey Wilson WY michaelabbey@excite.com 619-871-2461
Bill Anderson Jackson WY bill@mountainguidewyoming.com 307-690-5136
Mark Smiley Jackson WY mark@saltmountaineering.com 970 901 8079
Dan Starr Jackson WY starrdan@earthlink.net
Bill Dyer Wilson WY bdyer100@gmail.com 307-690-3235
Tom Hargis Jackson WY hargis@wyoming.com 307-733-2297
Rob Hess Jackson WY rob@jhmg.com (307) 733-4979
Jim Williams Jackson WY pmg@atrav.com 307-733-8812
Mike Poborsky Jackson WY mike@exumguides.com 307-413-8947
Nat Patridge Jackson WY nat@exumguides.com 307-733-2297
Gary Falk Wilson WY garyfalk1@yahoo.com
Kent McBride Jackson Hole WY mountainsense@gmail.com 307-690-7205
Andrew Carson Wilson WY andrewcarson@earthlink.net
Brian Warren Jackson WY brian@jhmg.com 307-699-4978
156