Interior About
AMGA

Certified Alpine Guide

Terrain Description: Alpine Guide

When alpine certification is an integral part of, or basis for, obtaining a permit to guide, Certified Alpine Guides are required to operate only within the confines of the alpine certification and the terrain limitations applicable to that certification. This section outlines the type of terrain on which a Certified Alpine Guide is allowed to guide when alpine certification is an integral requirement for obtaining a permit. AMGA guides are allowed to work outside of these limitations when their certification is not an integral requirement for acquiring a permit.

Alpine terrain includes glaciated and non-glaciated peaks, approaches and climbs, with no limitation with respect to season and elevation. It includes rock climbs, peak ascents, waterfall climbs and expeditionary climbing.

Alpine guides are allowed to conduct their profession on all alpine and rock terrains which:

  • Are Yosemite Decimal System (YDS) Grade V or shorter (for rock routes)
  • Are not conducted on skis where the main objective of the outing is either a ski tour or the enjoyment of downhill skiing
  • YDS Grade V or longer rock routes in alpine settings are allowed to AMGA guides who hold both Alpine and Rock Guide Certifications
Alpine Guide Logo
First Name Last Name City State/Province Email Work Phone
Kathy Cosley 74310 Les Houches kathy@cosleyhouston.com +33 601912477
Mark Houston 74310 Les Houches mark@cosleyhouston.com
Caroline George Chamonix - carolinewaregeorge@gmail.com
Thor Husted chamonix - thorhusted54@hotmail.com +33649038986
Geoff Unger Chamonix - info@geoffungermountainguide.com (206) 619-3034
Rodrigo Mujica Chile - summit@patagonicas.com 888-203-9354
Seth Hobby Kabelvag - seth@alpineguides.no + 47 942 49110
Miles Smart Chamonix - smartguides@mac.com
Elizabeth Oakes Smart Chamonix-Les Alpes - smartguides@mac.com
Danny Uhlmann Chamonix Mont-Blanc - danny@firstlightmountainguides.com +33 6 40 89 85 40
Matt Farmer Chamonix Mont-Blanc - farmer@mountainguides.com France mobile +33 6 84 07 61 90
David Vallet Cape Town - davidvallet@gmail.com
Steve Young Anchorage AK 11543 907-245-1243
Jamie Pierce Juneau AK jpierce11@uas.alaska.edu 907-500-3127
Joe Stock Anchorage AK stockalpine@gmail.com 907-830-0125
Willi Prittie Talkeetna AK willi@mtaonline.net 206-378-1927
Mike Bromberg Revelstoke BC mike@mikebromberg.com 250-814-4386
Buck Corrigan Revelstoke BC aroo@telus.net 250-814 8494
Evan Stevens Garibaldi Highlands BC evanstevens@gmail.com 6048485466
Ben Mitchell Truckee CA benmitchell17@gmail.com 503-307-1320
Adrian Ballinger Olympic Valley CA adrian@alpenglowexpeditions.com 970-309-8698
Matthew Hegeman Truckee CA matthewhegeman@yahoo.com
Neil Satterfield June Lake CA neil@sierramtnguides.com 760-914-2133
SP Parker Bishop CA sp@sierramountaincenter.com 760-873-8526
Howie Schwartz Big Pine CA howie@sierramtnguides.com 760-648-1122
Doug Nidever June Lake CA doug@themountainguide.com 760-937-6922
Doug Robinson Kirkwood CA drobinson@movingoverstone.com 831.234.0177
Matt Brooks Fremont CA rewmb@aol.com 510-797-7980
Kurt Wedberg Bishop CA info@sierramountaineering.com 760-872-4929
Dave Miller Mammoth Lake CA dave@californiaalpineguides.com 877-686-2546
Jediah Porter Bishop CA jediahmporter@gmail.com 760 920 1403
Antoine Savelli Ophir CO antoinesavelli@aol.com 970-728-3705
Joe Thompson Erie CO climberjoeyt@gmail.com 303 472 5920
Frank Coffey Crested Butte CO frankmcoffey@gmail.com
Dawn Glanc Ouray CO dawnglanc@hotmail.com (970) 325-4925
John Bicknell Niwot CO jdrb1957@hotmail.com 303-589-6571
Amos Whiting Aspen CO dreamsplitter1@gmail.com 970-319-1084
Jean Pavillard gunnison CO jean@jpmountainguide.com 970-209-3980
Steve Matous Boulder CO stevecznp@comcast.net
Nathan Disser Durango CO nate@mtnguide.net 970-259-0370
Constantine Severis Telluride CO constantineseveris@hotmail.com
Dave Ahrens ouray CO alpineahrens@yahoo.com
Mark Smiley Crested Butte CO mark@saltmountaineering.com 970 901 8079
Michael Walter Snowmass CO mountainguide@live.com 970-618-3953
Chad Peele Ridgway CO peakascents@gmail.com
Steve Johnson Boulder CO stevegjohnson@me.com 720.635.6068
Patrick Ormond Ouray CO pormond@hotmail.com 435-640-8704
Clint Cook Ouray CO clintcookifmga@yahoo.com
Mark Falender Snowmass Village CO mfalender@gmail.com 970-366-1978
Keith Garvey Ridgway CO climb@allmountainadventures.com 970-596-0619
Eric Larson Telluride CO ekkalarson@yahoo.com
Dylan Taylor Boulder CO taylorfoto@gmail.com
Dale Remsberg Lafayette CO daleremsberg@mac.com 303-818-8009
Jeff Banks Crested Butte CO jeffbanksguide@mac.com
Peter Krainz Dillon CO peterkrainz@comcast.net (970)409-9555
Steve Banks Crested Butte CO steve@stevebanksmountainguide.com 970-209-7165
Michael Soucy Boulder CO mnsoucy@hotmail.com 970-389-7299
Angela Hawse Ridgway CO angela@alpinist007.com 970-318-9000
Markus Beck Boulder CO info@alpineworldascents.com 303-350-0366
Bart Paull Lakewood CO bart.paull@gmail.com 307-690-6550
Dick Jackson Aspen CO dickjackson@aspenexpeditions.com 970-925-7625
Steven House Ridgway CO stevehouse10@yahoo.com
Vince Anderson Grand Junction CO vinceanderson@hotmail.com 970-209-2985
Eli Helmuth Estes Park CO guide@climbinglife.com 970-744-4898
Eric Whewell Boulder CO whewelleric@gmail.com 970 596-7705
Andrew Councell Estes Park CO acouncell@totalclimbing.com 970.776.6847
Steven Schreiber Basalt CO mthuttheliguides@comcast.net +1 970 309 1093
Tim Brown Crested Butte CO timbrown365@gmail.com
Bob Clark East Hartford CT bobbo@alpineendeavors.com 860-930-5929
Roger Fleming Atlanta GA roger.fleming@mensa.ch
Marc Hanselman Ketchum ID marc@alpineprointernational.com 208-720-6369
Kirk Bachman Stanley ID kirk@sawtoothguides.com 208-559-7590
Erik Leidecker Hailey ID erikl@sawtoothguides.com 208-720-1823
Peter Whittaker Ketchum ID peter@rmiguide.com 360-791-3289
Greg Wilson Hailey ID gregwilson1@earthlink.net 208-720-4835
Christian Santelices Victor ID cesantelices@gmail.com +1 (307) 690-1385
Karsten Delap Columbus IN karstendelap@yahoo.com 812-371-7826
Chris Warner Columbia MD cw@earthtreksclimbing.com 800-CLIMB-UP ext 16
Kurt Winkler Brownfield ME kurt@winklermountainguide.com 207-739-9358
Jon Tierney Orono ME climb@acadiamountainguides.com 207-866-7562 year round
Skip Horner Victor MT skip@skiphorner.com 406-642-6840
Tyler Jones Bozeman MT jo16nes@hotmail.com 208.720.1185
Robert Montague Somers MT montaguemountaineering@gmail.com 406 407 2807
Jack Tackle Bozeman MT alpinejava@gmail.com 208-270-1530
Art Mooney New Hampton NH artmooney@me.com 603-744-5853
Peter Doucette Intervale NH peter@mountainsenseguides.com 603-616-7455
Michael Silitch Dublin NH michael@high-alpine.com 011 336 89 48 41 18
Alain Comeau North Conway NH arc@fairpoint.net 603 662 6306
Mark Synnott Jackson NH mark@synnottmountainguides.com
Marc Chauvin North Conway NH marc@chauvinguides.com 603-356-8919
Marc Ripperger Albuquerque NM marcripperger@yahoo.com
John Kear Edgewood NM John@suntoucher.com 505-400-2529
Marc Beverly Albuquerque NM marc@beverlymountainguides.com 505-264-8364
Martin Molitoris Rosendale NY marty@alpineendeavors.com 877-486-5769
Silas Rossi New Paltz NY silas@alpine-logic.com 207-949-1736
Jesse Williams Keene Valley NY jesse@cloudsplitterguides.com 518-569-8910
Scott Woolums Hood River OR Scott@ExploreYourPlanet.com +1-541-490-5028
Chris Wright Bend OR chris@nowclimbing.com 970-325-3186
Nick Pope Portland OR nick@timberlinemtguides.com 503-358-3195
Pete Keane Bend OR pete@timberlinemtguides.com 541-312-9242
Gabriel Coler Bend OR gabriel@hiddencrag.com
Tico Gangulee Houston TX tico.allulee@gmail.com
Jonathon Spitzer Cottonwood Heights UT jonathon.spitzer@gmail.com 970 596 5971
Todd Passey Salt Lake City UT toddpassey@gmail.com 801 842-8398
Willie Benegas Sandy UT willie@benegasbrothers.com 801-512-0592
Jeff Rhoads Salt Lake City UT skylineventures@comcast.net 801-230-4451
Rick Wyatt Sandy UT leeswyatt@hotmail.com 307-733-2297
Evelyn Lees Sandy UT evelyn@utahavalanchecenter.org 307-733-2297
Adam George Salt Lake City UT sendadamnews@gmail.com
Alan Rousseau Salt Lake City UT alaninthealpine@gmail.com 2036052128
Kel Rossiter Burlington VT adventurespiritguides@gmail.com 802-535-1498
Dustin Dearborn Jeffersonville VT dustinsdearborn@yahoo.com 802-760-0506
Kevin Mahoney Richmond VT kbmbarn@gmail.com 603-387-3879
Mark Allen Winthrop WA alpinelines@gmail.com 360-305-2383
Kurt Hicks Seattle WA kurthicks@gmail.com 360-303-7641
Jeff Ward Leavenworth WA jeff@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Margaret Wheeler Snoqualmie WA marg@proguiding.com 206-818-7947
Eric Simonson Ashford WA eric@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Michael O'Donnell Vancouver WA michaelo@ghvalley.net
Lyle Haugsven Seattle WA lyle_haugsven@yahoo.com 360-671-1505
Forest McBrian Seattle WA fmcbrian@gmail.com 503 740-5280
Tim Connelly Bellingham WA tcgoneclimbing@gmail.com 360-319-1089
Craig Van Hoy Gig Harbor WA info@gotrek.com 253-549-5350
Chris Simmons Seattle WA chris@chrissimmonsguiding.com 206-715-7589
Jason Edwards University Place WA jason.edwards@mountainguides.com 253-566-2600
John Race Leavenworth WA jr@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Phil Ershler Kirkland WA phil@mountainguides.com 360 569 2609
George Dunn Ashford WA george@mountainguides.com 360-569-2609
Larry Goldie Winthrop WA larry@ncmountainguides.com 509-996-3194
Olivia Cussen Leavenworth WA olivia@mountainschool.com 509-548-5823
Martin Volken North Bend WA martinvolken@proguiding.com 206-525-4425
Justin Merle Kent WA justin.merle@mountainguides.com 253-350-7628
Mike Powers Spokane WA poowers@earthlink.net (360) 671-1505
Ian Nicholson Seattle WA ian@supertopo.com 206-852-2342
Aaron Mainer Enumclaw WA aaron.mainer@mountainguides.com (509)995-5042
Peter Athans Bainbridge Island WA
Lee Lazzara Bellingham WA lee.lazzara@yahoo.com
Tod Bloxham Tacoma WA tod@edgeworksclimbing.com 253-564-4899
Alan Kearney Bellingham WA alanjayk@comcast.net 360-671-1505
Tom Hargis Jackson WY hargis@wyoming.com 307-733-2297
Kent McBride Jackson Hole WY mountainsense@gmail.com 307-690-7205
Kim Schmitz jackson WY kschmitz@bresnan.net 307-739-9269
Gary Falk Wilson WY garyfalk1@yahoo.com
Jim Williams Jackson WY pmg@atrav.com 307-733-8812
Bill Anderson Jackson WY bill@mountainguidewyoming.com 307-690-5136
Michael Abbey Wilson WY michaelabbey@excite.com 619-871-2461
Nat Patridge Jackson WY nat@exumguides.com 307-733-2297
Andrew Carson Wilson WY andrewcarson@earthlink.net
Mike Poborsky Jackson WY mike@exumguides.com 307-413-8947
Rob Hess Jackson WY rob@jhmg.com (307) 733-4979
Brian Warren Jackson WY brian@jhmg.com 307-699-4978
Bill Dyer Wilson WY bdyer100@gmail.com 307-690-3235
Dan Starr Jackson WY starrdan@earthlink.net
153